- This BFA is not STEM-designated, as published. Parsons Communication Design is. If your plan depends on the 24-month OPT extension, that difference between two Parsons departments is the whole conversation.
- Manufacturing literacy arrives in second year — models and prototypes, computer-aided industrial design, and materials and manufacturing processes, all before junior year.
- There is a required portfolio course in junior spring. Almost no peer programme formalises this.
- Senior year is twelve credits of studio — an interdisciplinary project, then a capstone.
- The industry partners are furniture and beauty houses, not consumer electronics. That tells you where the department’s centre of gravity sits.
- Industrial Design shows 13 awards across 32 acceptances in our record — a 41% rate, averaging $64,385 across those 13 awards.
The STEM Question, Answered Honestly
We put this first because it is the one thing a Korean applicant can get badly wrong by generalising.
Parsons’ Communication Design BFA carries a STEM designation, published on its own programme page as “Other program status: STEM-designated.” Graduates of STEM-designated programmes on F-1 status can apply for the 24-month extension to Optional Practical Training — up to three years of work authorisation instead of one.
Product Design’s programme page states no such designation. We looked for it specifically and it is not there.
This is not an argument against the programme. It is an argument for knowing which of two Parsons departments you are choosing and why.
What the Catalogue Actually Says
The BFA is 120 credits over four years. First year is Parsons’ shared foundation — Integrative Studio and Seminar, Sustainable Systems, Space/Materiality, Drawing/Imaging, Time, Objects as History. The major begins in second year, and the course codes tell a clear story.
| Year | Core courses |
|---|---|
| Sophomore | PUPD 2010 / 2011 Product Design Studio 1 & 2 · PUPD 2027 Models, Mockups and Prototypes · PUPD 2020 Process Drawing and Digital Presentation · PUPD 2090 Computer-Aided Industrial Design · PUPD 2030 Materials & Manufacturing Processes · History of Design 1850–2000 |
| Junior | PUPD 3010 / 3011 Design Studio 3 & 4 · PUPD 3050 Human Factors, Ergonomics and Interface · PUPD 3080 Portfolio, Publication, and Dynamic Media |
| Senior | PUPD 4010 Product Design Studio 5: Interdisciplinary Project(s) (6 credits) · PUPD 4011 Product Design Studio 6: Capstone (6 credits) · Advanced Research Seminar: Constructed Environments |
Three observations that do not appear in any marketing copy.
Manufacturing literacy is front-loaded. A student finishes second year having taken model-making, CAD for industrial design, and materials and manufacturing processes. Compare RISD Industrial Design, whose second year is described as skill-based work in wood, metal, paper and plastic. Both are legitimate; they are not the same education. Parsons teaches you earlier how a thing gets made at volume; RISD teaches you earlier how a thing gets made by hand.
There is a required portfolio course. PUPD 3080 Portfolio, Publication, and Dynamic Media sits in junior spring as core, not elective. Very few design programmes make presentation a graded requirement, and for an international student who will one day be applying for work in a second language, a semester spent formally on how the work is shown is worth more than it sounds.
Senior year is one long studio. Six credits of interdisciplinary project in autumn, six of capstone in spring. That is a heavier senior commitment than most peer programmes, and it means arriving with a question of your own matters.
The Partner List Is the Position Statement
Parsons names the companies this department partners with for internships and projects: Roche Bobois, Poltrona Frau and Moroccanoil. Two high-end furniture houses and a beauty brand.
Set that beside RISD Industrial Design’s named partners — Samsung, Kimberly-Clark, Progressive, plus research collaborations with MIT Sloan, Brown, NASA and Massachusetts General Hospital — and the two departments come into focus. RISD’s outward-facing work runs toward engineering, healthcare and mass manufacture. Parsons’ runs toward furniture, materials and consumer culture.
Career outcomes Parsons lists for this BFA reinforce it: “industrial design, product development, manufacturing, furniture design, humanitarian and service design, health design, and toy design.” Furniture is named. Toy design is named. Consumer electronics is not.
For a Korean applicant whose ambition is to design phones or appliances for a large manufacturer, that is not disqualifying — the underlying training transfers — but it is worth knowing that you would be choosing a department whose visible partnerships point elsewhere.
Where the Work Happens
Students work through the Making Center, Parsons’ consolidated fabrication facility, and have access to the Angelo Donghia Healthier Materials Library — a research resource organised around material health rather than material appearance.
That library is a genuinely unusual asset and it fits the rest of the programme. Every Parsons first-year takes Sustainable Systems; the department describes itself as addressing sustainability and technological change; electives run through “material innovation, fabrication methods, experimental ceramics, and design for the public realm.” A student who wants to argue about what a product is made of, and what that does to the people who make and discard it, has the apparatus here to do it properly.
Students also share studio and collaborative space with architecture, interior design, fine arts and lighting design. Study abroad runs through Paris, London and Florence — and Parsons Paris is a campus of the same university, which makes a year there administratively simpler than an exchange between unrelated institutions.
The programme is directed by Barent Roth.
Applying: The Rules Are Parsons-Wide
Unlike CalArts, where two animation programmes ask for opposite portfolios, Parsons applies one undergraduate specification across its departments. It is worth reading literally.
- Eight to twelve slides. Fewer than RISD’s twelve to twenty or SVA’s fifteen to twenty. With twelve slots, one weak piece costs nearly a tenth of your case.
- Every image needs dimensions, a title and a short narrative, including any use of AI; at least two need full process notes on ideas, concepts, inspiration and materials.
- Once submitted, the portfolio cannot be edited. Parsons states it plainly.
- Two essays, 300–400 words each — what social issue or system you will focus your effort on, and what about The New School made you apply, with specific attention to the college and major. The Parsons Challenge no longer exists.
- Explicitly excluded: Roblox images, Sims housing renderings, UX/UI research, TikTok GRWM videos, fashion styling, AutoCAD drawings, anime drawings, and direct copies of another artist’s work.
The AutoCAD line is the one that catches product design applicants. Korean preparation for industrial design frequently produces technical drawings and CAD output as the backbone of a portfolio, and Parsons names AutoCAD drawings among what not to send. Read it precisely: this is an exclusion of drafting output presented as portfolio work, not a ban on digital fabrication or on showing that you can model. Show the object and the thinking; keep the technical drawing to the process slides, if at all.
On AI, Parsons requires disclosure — any AI-supported work must carry a description of your process and the machine-learning tools used — and “strongly recommends that you do not submit work created entirely by AI.” SVA prohibits generated images outright; RISD requires disclosure; Parsons sits between them.
The Placement Test Nobody Mentions
Parsons publishes no hard English cut score. It places instead of filtering, and the placement has consequences.
Parsons states: “All new students who are native speakers of languages other than English must take the English Course Placement Test, regardless of fluency, previous English coursework, degrees/diplomas from U.S. institutions, IELTS score, or SAT score.”
The only exemption is a TOEFL or Duolingo score submitted with your application. Students placed into the ESL sequence take ESL courses and language-supported sections, and Parsons warns that failing to register for the appropriate English course “can delay your progress toward completion of degree requirements and delay your expected date of graduation.”
A US high school diploma does not exempt you. An IELTS score does not exempt you. Submit a Duolingo or TOEFL score even if you believe you do not need one — one test fee removes both the placement test and the risk of an unbudgeted ESL sequence. And note that ETS replaced the TOEFL iBT score scale on 21 January 2026: the 0–120 total is gone, scores run 1 to 6 in half-band steps, and the total is the average of the four sections rather than their sum.
Cost, and the Comparison That Surprises People
Parsons’ 2026–27 undergraduate tuition is $31,174 per semester — $62,348 a year — plus a university services fee of $720 per semester. The New School’s published living-expense estimate for a New York student adds $24,468: room $15,150, food $1,730, books and supplies $2,050, transportation $460, personal $1,550, health insurance $2,892 and the health services fee $636.
Now the comparison that matters for this major specifically. Parsons’ tuition is lower than RISD’s ($66,460), and its estimated all-in figure lands below RISD’s published $93,776. A Korean family weighing RISD Industrial Design against Parsons Product Design on prestige alone is skipping a difference of several thousand dollars a year — and, as the next section shows, a much larger difference in what comes back.
What Our Record Shows
Across 1,099 acceptances at 95 schools between 2009 and 2026, Royal Blue students received 454 awards totalling $23,746,972 — an overall award rate of 41.3% at $52,306 average.
| School | Royal Blue acceptances | Award rate | Average award |
|---|---|---|---|
| Parsons | 63 | 60% | $53,116 |
| RISD | 68 | 6% | Not reported (n=4) |
| Pratt | 102 | 39% | $67,638 |
| SAIC | 81 | 69% | $46,775 |
| ArtCenter | 43 | 12% | $49,200 (5 awards) |
Sixty per cent against six per cent. On our record, a Royal Blue student accepted to Parsons received an award ten times as often as one accepted to RISD. RISD’s awards are twice the size when they arrive, but they arrive for roughly one accepted student in seventeen.
We include ArtCenter in this table deliberately: it is the other name that comes up constantly in Korean industrial design conversations, and at a 12% award rate it behaves much more like RISD than like Parsons. If funding has to work, that is worth knowing before the application, not after.
By major, industrial design is the best-paying discipline in our entire record:
| Major | Acceptances | Award rate | Average award |
|---|---|---|---|
| Industrial Design | 32 | 41% | $64,385 (13 awards) |
| Architecture | 22 | 27% | $58,667 (6 awards) |
| Communication Design | 95 | 54% | $53,490 |
| Interior Design | 35 | 40% | $41,679 (14 awards) |
Thirty-two acceptances is a small sample and we say so. But only 13 of those 32 acceptances came with money, averaging $64,385, and the pattern holds across schools: the design disciplines that require expensive facilities tend to be funded accordingly.
One structural advantage at Parsons worth naming: scholarship review is automatic. There is no separate application and no separate deadline to miss — unlike SVA, where a 1 February scholarship gate closes independently of admission. The counterweight is that there is no second chance later either; the application itself has to carry the case.
Six Moves Before You Apply
1. Take the drafting sheets out. AutoCAD drawings are on Parsons’ exclusion list. Technical drawing is a skill this programme will teach you; it is not the case you make at eighteen.
2. Show something you physically made. Second year opens with models, mockups and prototypes. A foam model with visible sanding, a joint that holds, a mechanism that works — these are what the department is built on.
3. Count to twelve and stop. Eight to twelve slides, and no editing after submission. Finish it, leave it a week, then send it.
4. Write the description boxes as design work. Dimensions, title, a short narrative on every image; full process notes on at least two. In a portfolio this small, the text is a meaningful share of what is read.
5. Name Parsons things in essay two. The Healthier Materials Library, the manufacturing sequence in second year, the required portfolio course, a partner or a faculty interest. Generic praise of New York reads as an essay written for four schools.
6. Submit a Duolingo or TOEFL score. Even if you think you are exempt. It is the only route past the placement test.
We publish no alumni outcome claims we cannot verify and no acceptance rate Parsons does not release. The partner companies named here are Parsons’ own listings of internships and partnerships, not employment claims. The STEM point is drawn from what each programme page does and does not state — confirm the current designation with the school before relying on it. Our figures for industrial design rest on 32 acceptances, and we say so rather than presenting a small sample as a law. Where a total is our arithmetic rather than the school’s, we say so on the line.
Frequently Asked Questions
Parsons Product Design or RISD Industrial Design?
The training differs in emphasis and the money differs enormously. Parsons front-loads manufacturing literacy — CAD, materials and processes, model-making all in second year — and requires a portfolio course. RISD front-loads hand skill in wood, metal, paper and plastic, admits you to the college rather than the department, and runs research partnerships with MIT Sloan, Brown, NASA and Massachusetts General Hospital. On our record Parsons awarded something to 60% of accepted students and RISD to 6%. If funding is a constraint, that is not a close comparison; if the workshop culture and research access are what you want, RISD earns its price.
Is Product Design the same as Industrial Design?
In practice yes — Parsons lists industrial design first among the careers this BFA leads to, and Korean employers and graduate programmes read the two names as the same field. The departmental label differs; the discipline does not.
I want to design consumer electronics. Is this the wrong school?
Not wrong, but be clear-eyed. The partners Parsons names for this department are furniture and beauty houses, and the careers it lists include furniture and toy design rather than consumer electronics. The core training — human factors, materials, manufacturing, CAD — transfers. Just do not choose it because you assume it is an electronics pipeline.
Can I use my CAD renders at all?
Yes. The exclusion names AutoCAD drawings — drafting output — not modelling or rendering as such. A rendered object that you designed, presented as a designed object with the thinking behind it, is legitimate portfolio content. A sheet of orthographic views is not.
Do I need to worry about the STEM difference now, at eighteen?
Only if your family’s plan involves working in the United States after graduation. If it does, the difference between one year and three years of work authorisation is the largest single variable in this decision, and it is worth an email to Parsons’ international office before you choose between departments.
Is the Parsons Challenge still part of the application?
No. It no longer appears in the undergraduate requirements. Korean academy materials still describe it because it ran for years. What replaced it is the pair of 300–400 word essays, one of which must speak specifically to the college and major you applied to.
Next Steps
Read Parsons BFA Product Design‘s own pages and the current portfolio instructions before finalising anything; Parsons changes its requirements more often than its peers, and the retired Challenge is the proof. Royal Blue Art & Design has guided Korean applicants to US art schools from Apgujeong, Seoul for nineteen years, across 63 Parsons acceptances and 32 in industrial design.
Related Reading
Parsons Department Deep Dives
- Parsons Communication Design Department: Deep Dive — the STEM-designated one
- Parsons Fashion Design Department: Deep Dive
- Parsons Illustration Department: Deep Dive
- Parsons in 2026: New Programs and What to Know